• Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. Albert Einstein
  • You can now follow my cooking website, The Southern Lady Cooks, on facebook!

  • TIME TO CLEAR OUT THE CLUTTER! (click photo)

  • PEARLS OF WISDOM (click photo)

  • Gifts of time and love are surely the basic ingredients of a truly merry Christmas. ~Peg Bracken
  • Subjects I Write About

  • MORE SOUTHERN STUFF

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

  • My Past Posts

A NEW YEAR, A TIME TO REFLECT

The picture is of me and my twins in 1980.  I was 35!  I had never seen this picture before. My sister posted the picture on facebook last week. She said I was leaving her house and she snapped the picture. 

Every year at this time I always start looking back, looking at old pictures, remembering old times. I went to the farm for Christmas and spent Christmas Eve and Christmas day with my daughters.  We made sausage balls, country ham and biscuits, eggnog, cookies, and then cooked dinner Christmas day.  We played cards half the night and listened to old songs and talked about old times.  We watched the horses with their blankets on, eating hay in the field on Christmas morning and the dogs playing.  We rearranged furniture in their house, rummaged through boxes of books that belonged to their grandparents and talked about days gone by.  It was a time we cherish together.

On Sunday, my son and his wife, brought Tater to my house to get his Christmas gifts.  He was so excited. Tater jumped out of the car and came up the sidewalk in a hurry to get his gifts from his Nana.  Tater told me a long time ago that he wanted a Criss Cross Crash for Christmas. I got it for him but waited till the last gift to give it to him.  He loved it and ran around the house showing us how excited he was with his new present. 

It has been 30 years since that first picture was taken of me with the girls.  So much has happened in all our lives. So many friends and family have passed on during this time that we look back and remember every year and miss so much.  We thank God for all our blessings and for our friends and family.  

I hope that you and your family have a wonderful New Year.

13 Responses

  1. Happy new year, Judy. Loved reading this. And you know what , there is some similarity in Tater, and one of the daughters in the old picture !

  2. I loved reading it too, Judy. It made me reflect on days gone by.

  3. Judy, I can relate to all you share. When I look at my boxes of old pictures – I smile, laugh and eyes fill with tears. We have so many memories.
    The comment on my journal. Look this book up on Amazon j- it is a great children’s or for anyone book.

  4. Great picture, Judy, taken in 1980… YES–lots has changed in all of our lives since 1980….

    Love seeing your grandson with his Criss Cross Crash… I had no idea what that was –until I saw your photo… Looks CUTE..

    Have a wonderful New Year.
    Hugs,
    Betsy

  5. I like to reflect back on family and friends, memory is a wonderful gift God has given us and I thank him every day for it.Nice picture of you and the girls, doesn’t time fly by. That Tater is so cute and sure is growing. Glad you went to the farm and had a nice Christmas with the girls. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Fun to hear about your time with your girls. That little Tater is so cute. Enjoy him…he’ll be big before you know it. Happy New Year…Balisha

  7. You made some wonderful memories with your family. I love the idea of time together at the grandparents home. There is so much you can tell them.
    I need to do this with my girls.
    Have a wonderful new year.

  8. Your Christmas with your girls sounds lovely, Judy. I know they’ll always remember and cherish that time.

    Tater is adorable—he looks so happy!

    A joyful and blessed New Year to you and your family, Judy.

  9. So pleasant to envision myself with my own small children in your photograph — those days brought back to me in your post. They grow so fast and then we get to rejoice again in our grandchildren. Thank you and Happy 2011!

  10. happy new year to you and tater.

  11. i hope you and tater are having a good time.

  12. happy new one Judy

  13. Me Again, We certainly do have almost the same blog headers…. Amazing….
    Hugs,
    Betsy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

