• Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. Albert Einstein
  • You can now follow my cooking website, The Southern Lady Cooks, on facebook!

  • TIME TO CLEAR OUT THE CLUTTER! (click photo)

  • PEARLS OF WISDOM (click photo)

  • Gifts of time and love are surely the basic ingredients of a truly merry Christmas. ~Peg Bracken
  • Subjects I Write About

  • MORE SOUTHERN STUFF

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

  • My Past Posts

SECRETARIAT!

It has been a while since I have done a post on this blog.  I am having a hard time posting here and on The Southern Lady Cooks, too.  The fan page on Facebook now has 813 fans so it keeps me busy writing blog posts, cooking, getting new recipes together and posting both places.  I love to cook and I enjoy the Facebook page so I spend more time there these days.  So whether you like to cook or not, there are lots of good articles on the cooking blog and things to comment on. Today,  we are doing funny food stories over there, so click on the link above and tell your story and read the comments of some of my readers.

Anyway, I checked my friend Balisha’s blog this morning, Never Enough Time, and she has a post about the movie, Secretariat.  I have wanted to see this movie since it came out.  I had it on my Netflix list for months and behold it came today!  I watched it the minute I got it.

If you have not seen this movie be sure and watch it.  It is a wonderful movie.  I could watch it again right now and I just saw it today!  A lot of the scenes are filmed in Kentucky and several people I know were extras and such.  The scene where the horse runs the Belmont was filmed at Keeneland Race Track in Lexington about 30 minutes away from my house. I know you are going to love it.

9 Responses

  1. So glad you got it…Wasn’t that last race exciting? I remember that horse from back when my Mom was alive. She loved horse racing and the Kentucky Derby was never missed at our house. I can remember her talking about this horse. When she got Alzheimers Dad would take her out for a drive to a couple of horse farms in a town near by. They would stop along the road so she could get out of the car and feed them. I loved horse books as a child and the movies too. I still love movies about them. Balisha

  2. I think I remember Secretariat, but not I did buy Seabiscuit several years ago and loved it. The showed the statue of Secretariat out in front of Churchill Downs. I loved horses when I was a kid and until we had several for a few years. They are a lot of work and heartbreak, but I still love them.

    I’ll get the dvd and both of you should see “The King’s Speech”. I loved that movie.

  3. The King’s Speech is on my list to see. I see very few movies but this one sounds terrific! I saw Secretariat with Scott, my son. It was really good too.

  4. Have missed your postings. Do not do Facebook.
    No time……….

  5. Saw Secretariat and loved it!

  6. the book was good.

  7. I’ll have to check out Secretariat, Judy. That is really cool that you know some of the people in it and many of the places—it makes it even more exciting to watch!

  8. Hubby picked up Secretariat this afternoon and we are going to watch it in the morning. We forgot about it tonight.

  9. I’ve seen all the movies nominated for best picture this year, but I’ve not seen Secretariat. It’s on my Netflix queue, though.

    I’ve featured your site on my blog — Grandma’s Briefs — today:
    http://www.grandmasbriefs.com/home/2011/2/25/5-about-pages-meet-the-grandparents.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

